ALL INDIA COUNCIL FOR TECHNICAL EDUCATION Nelson Mandela Road, Vasant Kunj, New Delhi 110 070

Minutes of the 158th Emergent meeting of the Executive Committee held on May 08, 2023 at 11.00 am in the Board Room, Second floor at AICTE Hqs, Nelson Mandela Marg, Vasant Kunj, New Delhi:

Following Members were present in the meeting:

1.	Prof. (Dr.) T G Sitharam Chairman, AICTE	Chairman
2.	Dr Abhay Jere Vice Chairman, AICTE (Connected through Video Conferencing)	Member
3.	Sh. Sandeep Jain Deputy Secretary (TE), Ministry of Education, Govt. of India, New Delhi (Connected through Video Conferencing)	Nominee, Secretary, MoE, GOI, New Delhi
4.	Prof. N. P. Padhy, Chairman, Northern Western Regional Committee, (NWRC) AICTE (Director MNIT, Jaipur) (Connected through Video Conferencing)	Member
5.	Prof. Parameswar K Iyer, Chairman, Eastern Regional Committee, (ERC) AICTE (A/C Director, IIT-Guwahati)	Member
6.	Dr. Manoj Tiwari, Chairman, AIB -UGET (Director, National Institute of Industrial Engineering [NITIE], Mumbai, Maharashtra) (Connected through Video Conferencing)	Member
7.	Prof Bhimaraya Metri Chairman, AIB-PGERT (Director, IIT Bhubaneswar) (Connected through Video Conferencing)	Member
8.	Dr. Sachin Parikh, Joint Director, Directorate of TE, Govt. of Gujarat, Ahmedabad (Connected through Video Conferencing)	Nominee, Secretary (TE) Govt. of Gujarat
9.	Dr. Usha Natesan, Director NITR-Chennai (Connected through Video Conferencing)	Member
10.	Prof. Praveen Nahar, Director, National institute of Design, Ahmedabad (Connected through Video Conferencing)	Member
11.	Prof. M Jagadesh Kumar, Chairman, UGC (Connected through Video Conferencing)	Member
12.	Dr. Venkappayya R. Desai, Director IIT Dharwad, Karnataka (Connected through Video Conferencing)	Member
13.	Prof. Rajive Kumar, Member Secretary, AICTE	Member Secretary



My

ALL INDIA COUNCIL FOR TECHNICAL EDUCATION Nelson Mandela Road, Vasant Kunj, New Delhi 110 070

Chairman, AIB-PGERT, AICTE; JS & FA, MoE, New Delhi; Secretary (TE/HE) Govt. of Assam; Secretary (TE/HE) Govt. of Delhi; Secretary (TE/HE) Govt. of Karnataka; Prof Lalit Kumar Awasthi, Director NIT Uttrakahand; Director General, NILERD (former IAMR); Director General, ICAR could not attend the meeting due to their prior engagements.

At the outset, Prof. (Dr.) T G Sitharam, Chairman, AICTE welcomed all the members to the 158^{th} meeting of the Executive Committee.

Prof. Rajive Kumar, Member Secretary took up the Agenda. The following Agenda Items were taken up for consideration, deliberations and decisions taken as under:

Item No. 158.01.01 Approval Bureau

To consider and approve the grant of Extension of Approval based on self-disclosure for the AY 2023-24 to Existing Technical Institutions.

The Executive Committee considered and approved the grant of EoA based on self-disclosure for the AY 2023-24 to existing technical institutions. Further, AICTE has enhanced maximum number of seats in different disciplines from 300 to 360 without mandatory NBA accreditation in Engineering & Technology and Management (MBA) and 180 to 300 in Computer Application (MCA). Colleges that have increased their intake within the maximum permissible limit (without NBA accreditation) be given EoA without scrutiny; on the basis of self-disclosure.

Item No. 158.01.02 Approval Bureau

To consider and approve interchange of Emerging area courses under nomenclature Artificial Intelligence (AI), Data Science and Artificial Intelligence and Data Science. However, EC Recommended that standard and uniform course nomenclature should be adopted.

The Executive Committee considered and approved the interchange of AI, Data Science, AI & Data Science nomenclature to emerging area courses.

Item No. 158.01.03 Approval Bureau

To receive the information regarding grant of approval to institutes for running Electronics and Communications (VLSI Design & Technology), Electronics and Communications (Advance Communication Technology) and Logistics courses.

The Executive Committee considered and approved the proposal. The EC suggested that similar nomenclature be considered for VLSI. For 5G Technologies, nomenclature of the course should be generic to keep pace with the disruptive technological advancements and industry relevance.

Item No. 158.01.04 P&AP Bureau

To consider and approve the minutes of online meeting of committee for "Eligibility for admission to B.E/B. Tech (Lateral Entry) for the session 2023-24".

The Executive Committee considered and approved the recommendations of the Committee constituted for eligibility criteria for B.E./ B.Tech (lateral Entry).



pro

ALL INDIA COUNCIL FOR TECHNICAL EDUCATION Nelson Mandela Road, Vasant Kunj, New Delhi 110 070

The Executive Committee considered & authorized the Chairman, AICTE to take day-today decisions to expedite the Approval Process and report the same in the next meeting of the Executive Committee.

The meeting ended with vote of thanks to the Chair.

(Prof. Rajive Kumar) Member Secretary Prof. (Dr.) T G Sitharam Chairman

ALL INDIA COUNCIL FOR TECHNICAL EDUCATION (A Statutory Body of the Govt. of India) Nelson Mandela Marg, Vasant Kunj, New Delh. -110070

F No. 7-4/AICTE /158th Emergent EC Meeting / 2023

Dated: 12.05.2022

CORRIGENDUM

In the minutes of 158th Emergent Executive Committee Meeting, the designation of Prof. Bhimaraya Metri is inadvertently indicated as Chairman, AIB-PGERT and Director, IIT Bhubaneswar. It may be read as **Prof. Bhimaraya Metri, Chairman, AIB-PGERT and Director, IIM Nagpur.**

(Dr. Dinesh Singh)
Director, P&AP
(AICTE)